Ask a current student anything

<p>I'm a current sophomore with double majors in Electronic Media and Computer Science, I figure as the deadline for a decision is approaching I'd answer any questions I have to the best of my knowledge. Feel free to ask the questions you wouldn't or forgot to ask on the tour. I won't be the most knowledgeable in majors outside of the School of Communication but I can always ask my friends if you have specifics that I cannot answer. So fire away!</p>

<p>Hecht or Standford for first year housing?</p>

<p>Sent from my ADR6425LVW using CC</p>

<p>Hecht has a better lobby. I was personally in Stanford but it really doesn’t matter much. Hecht has generally the “Party” mentality but there is no difference. It’s all about who you hang out with and surrond yourself with</p>

<p>Do you know how many students are majoring in computer science? How many students in the intro courses? Advance courses?</p>

<p>Is it easy to meet people who don’t party super often?</p>

<p>

Can’t speak for advanced courses, but programming I (CSC120) was about 70 students, and programming II (220) about 30-35. These are intro courses.</p>

<p>My question is about Coral Grant: If the financial condition remains the same does the amount of Coral Grant change?</p>

<p>

IllD93 said the same thing seekinguni did about class sizes. She said there are about 70 students in her CSC120 lecture this semester. There are 90 seats listed for fall for CSC120 but only 57 are taken as of today. She’s registered for CSC220 in the fall - that lecture has 60 seats available but only 20 are currently filled.</p>

<p>

Yes, the party stigma of Miami is mainly hype. There might be more of a scene for it here, but it’s very easy to find people who don’t go party every day. My biggest advice for meeting people is join a club. I do several TV shows and I recently joined the rock climbing club and it’s something really fun to do with people of all grades</p>

<p>

</p>