Ask About Exeter!

Hi everyone!

Congratulations on your acceptance to PEA! I am currently a student at Exeter and wanted to start this thread to provide families with answers to pretty much any question they had about academics, sports, EC’s, campus life, affinity spaces, etc.

Feel free to ask any question however detailed!

I hope to share enough information to help newly admitted students and families navigate the upcoming weeks until April 10th!

Go Big Red!!!

5 Likes

I’ll start. Is there a grade bump for honors classes? How much homework/night (for honors/higher level classes) HONESTLY? How competitive is it really?

Is Harkness used for math and science, or do those have a component of lecture?

No bump. Actual time varies by person. Most probably between 2 to 4 hours. DD needs 8 hours of sleep, and she has been able to get that 90% of the days and she does sports all seasons.

Just to add on.

In total, there shouldn’t be more than 5 hours of homework but it really depends on the classes and teachers.

In response to your last question, Exeter is a pretty big school and hardly anyone is taking the same classes, this means you’re really only comparing grades with your classmates, peers, and friends which typically means you’re doing so in a friendly environment.

And to mention, the little bit of competitiveness seems to motivate a lot of students in all areas.

Harkness is used in every single class!

This was one of the things that stood out to me throughout the application process and when deciding which school to attend. Just like you, I expected it to be exempt from science and math because I thought it wouldn’t work.

When arriving at Exeter, I was very surprised by how fluidly the learning method worked in the two classes I was worried about, but my teachers did a great job of introducing it to me and my peers!

2 Likes

What’s the schedule like after April 10th? Information meetings, placement tests, summer events, start of school, etc