Best options for non-conservatory music study

My rising senior son is a musician. He plays piano, guitar, sings (school jazz choir and leading roles in musical theater), composes (solo piano) and writes (folkie singer/songwriter music). He is also incredibly strong in music theory. Music is his life and that is what he wants to pursue in college and beyond.

The issue is that he does not fit the conservatory mode. He has a number of years of training in jazz piano and is self taught on guitar. But, while quite good at both, neither instrument would be at the level for admisison into a conservatory. He is an excellent singer, but doesn’t want to pursue a vocal major. Moreover, he also wants to take a plethora of classes outside of music (creative writing and theology are of particular interest), so a BM is not for him. It is for this reason that Berklee is not under consideration although he is actually going to their five week program this summer.

In an earlier post, I asked for feedback on music production programs. While still interested in that, we are now looking a little more broadly. Where can an all around good musician go to study music outside of conservatory where the music major is not a strictly academic major (i.e., has some performance and composition options)? His acadmics are good but not at the top of the class (probably top 30%) and, while not done with his testing, indications are that his SAT scores will probably end up at or near 1400.