Budget and Tenure Concerns

Hello,
I am an incoming freshman at UW-Madison. I am out of state. More recently I have been concerned about the growing pressures on UW-Madison such as tenure and budget issues. It concerns me that many top faculty may be gone by the time I am on campus and my quality of education may be compromised. Additionally due to the budget cuts I am concerned that many resources will no longer be available.

I have heard a lot from both sides of this issue. An alarming amount of Wisconsin residents believe that it’s beneficial to cut the budget and cut out the “inefficiencies” from the school. Is it possible that there will be more systematic attacks like this on the school and school system? I have not seen much discussion on these issues on here and I would like to gather some perspectives from those who may know more about it.

Thanks,
A Concerned Incoming Student

What specific resources are you concerned about disappearing?

No resources in particular. I’ll be majoring in computer science. My concern is that there are valuable resources that I am unaware that will now no longer be available.

For computer science, frankly, I doubt it.
I truly doubt Comp Sci will be impacted that much for undergrad (in fact, I remember the course offerings being similar to previous years for this year).
That being said, do expect your tuition to go up rapidly every year. Three thousand next year (i believe?), and two thousand the next two years after that.

Comp Sci is wayyy too popular to be hugely impacted in UW-Madison. Considering the Intro classes like CS302 has over 500 students… I highly doubt they are just going to shut down a department that is the reason for many OOS and Internationals ^^

To be fair, I don’t think the OP is concerned the department is going to vanish. But rather that the high-quality faculty will start to trickle away. This is a reasonable concern with tenure being stuck from state law.