Can I take any kind of test to get into Calculus II?

<p>Hi guys, the problem is, I got a 3 in AB calculus exam and now i can't place out of calculus 1. I felt very, VERY comfortable with that class in high school, and earned an A from a hard teacher (weird, right?), and I was wondering if I could sit for ANY exam just to be placed into Calculus II and skip past Calc I. I really don't want to repeat Calc I, not because I'm too lazy, but I really felt like I understood the material and am pretty shocked about the score.</p>

<p>I'm an incoming freshman.</p>

<p>Please help.</p>

<p>I'm looking at you, chuy, lol.</p>

<p>To the best of my knowledge no, you can’t. If you had gotten a 4 or better on the AP exam you’d have had to take a test to get out of Calc I, but since you didn’t I don’t think you’re eligible to take the test.</p>

<p>I am actually pretty sure you can. I remember that the first day of Linear Algebra (the only day you’ll probably see your professor) that someone asked about taking an exemption test so I’d imagine there is one for calculus.</p>

<p>There’s some clever acronym for it, but I can’t remember what it was. Have you asked the department? Also, get to the Calc II homepage and try to find their “basic skills test.” You’re required to take that test at the start of calc 2 anyways and must get the required score to stay in the class. You get a whole bunch of tries but it is probably a good way to tell if you’re actually up to par.</p>

<p>There IS an exemption test, but as far as I know it’s only open to those who scored a 4 or higher. You can’t get out of Calc I without taking it.</p>

<p>From the Math website:</p>