Chance me for Exeter

I’m an 8th grade student from Russia, but I’ve been living in the U.S. for two years. I will be applying to Exeter for the 10th grade. My SSAT score is 2298(97 under the 8th grade curve), and I will be living just half an hour away from the school. I am into programming, international politics and more recent Russian history(20th century), and math. I am also curious about a lot of things like astronomy, and want to try out debate and robotics. I’d say I’m good at writing essays, and am pretty outspoken. What would my chances be looking like?

Read the following thread: Here are your chances for boarding schools.

While you have an excellent SSAT score, there are many more things that are considered in a successful application.

You’ve mentioned nothing about grades, it is unclear whether you have extracurricular activities, and you’ve given no reason why Exeter versus any other prep school, other than being close to home.

So, what do you want to get out of a prep school education?

It is really hard to chance anyone right now. This past cycle schools that were at 20-30% acceptance went down to 11%. Schools that were already at 11% - it was a slaughterhouse. Exeter wasn’t quite that low originally (11% was a dubious distinction held by Thatcher and Groton), but my guess is it was about 5-10% acceptance rate this M10. That means 95% of kids are not going to get in. Even if you say it went to 10% acceptance, 90% didn’t get in. So those are your chances. 90% chance you do not get in. Spend some time now looking for other schools you would love to go to so that you have good options next year. Good luck in your search - there is a lot, a whole lot, of information about schools on this board.

2 Likes

Exeter was about 10% this year, not sure about 10th grader though.

If you plan to apply to Exeter, there’s still time to build your case for this coming year. Regardless of the result, your effort won’t be wasted. Good luck.