Changing ethnicity to hispanic?

<p>As a sophomore i never filled any ethnicity bubbles on any standardized tests because i am white and like 10-15% spanish and was unsure of which to fill. Would it be ok to fill out the bubble hispanic when i take the SAT and when i apply to college? Most people recognize me as white because that is dominant in my appearance.</p>

<p>Do you need to prove URM status to your counselor or anything? And even though my hispanic blood falls through my father/great grandfather bloodline , my last name was altered when my great grandparents and parents moved to different countries so it has no real ethnic origin.</p>

<p>^ You have to be 25% Hispanic to be able to bubble the hispanic box</p>

<p>You can be 100% white and still be considered Hispanic. However, for College Board, I agree that you should be 25% Hispanic (one grandparent who is Hispanic.) That is the % College Board uses to be considered for the National Hispanic Recognition program.</p>

<p>^ is there any definite rule on this? I do not want to manipulate the system, but honestly, if it will help me get into a better university and there is no rules against it, why not?</p>

<p>^ The definite rule is that you have to be 25% hispanic, not Spain, but Central and South America</p>

<p>[National</a> Hispanic Recognition Program (NHRP)](<a href=“College Board - SAT, AP, College Search and Admission Tools”>Scholarships and Recognition with PSAT/NMSQT - SAT Suite)</p>

<p>I would use the above criteria since this is from College Board and is probably a standard that most colleges would use. Scroll down to where they talk about who is considered Hispanic under the “Frequently asked Questions” heading.</p>

<p>The National Recognition program is based on PSAT scores in Junior year. The list of scholars is sent to participating schools senior year. Some schools will offer scholarships based on College Board’s recognition.</p>