Changing Majors, Double Majors and Minors Oh My!

<p>I’m a prospective freshman at some of the UC’s with a bit of a problem.</p>

<p>I have taken a pretty diverse amount of courses throughout my high school career and I’m interested in a wide variety of subjects. I recently brought up the possibility of going in undeclared to some of the UC’s to my guidance counselor, and she said to be very careful with that, saying that in some cases, I may not get enough credits to graduate or the classes I won’t since priority goes to college juniors and seniors and community college transfers.</p>

<p>So I’ve been looking into more specific majors to get more focused, but I’m still interested in exploring potential interests, double majoring and minoring in said programs.</p>

<p>But just so I know what I’m getting myself into, how is changing/declaring majors/minors at the UC’s? Is it really that difficult? Is it inflexible? What about interdisciplinary studies? getting the classes you want?</p>

<p>Any advice I can recieve would be appriciated.</p>

<p>Thanks in advance :)</p>

<p>For most UCs, almost all freshmen are treated as undeclared and declaring/changing major involves filling out a form that requires a signature or two from academic advisors and/or faculty advisors. The only time being undeclared may be a problem is if you are really a pre-med or pre-engineering disguised as undeclared … pretty much all UCs restrict engineering courses to declared engineering majors and many UCs give priority registration for science courses to declared science majors, so you’ll run into all sorts of problems enrolling in your required courses if you are not declared for those majors. Other than that, it doesn’t really matter … you can be whatever major you want (and probably get priority enrollment for the lower-division courses in your major) or be undeclared (you’ll have the same priority as everyone else for the general education requirements).</p>