Chemistry or Math?

Hi, I’m a high school student who is planning to take some challenging classes at UW-Madison. I just finished AP Calculus and AP Chemistry at school and got 5’s on both of the AP exams. Now along with other senior classes, I am allowed to take either Chemistry 109 or Math 234 at UW madison. Which one would you recommend me to take?
BTW, I am thinking Chemical Engineering as my future major.

You can’t take both? If there is a schedule conflict could you take Chem 115 instead of 109? You will need a lot of chemistry for Chem E, plus math. Something to discuss with your SOAR advisor.

^^This is a local Madison high school senior who plans to take one class at UW this fall since his high school doesn’t offer math or science beyond the AP courses he took during his junior year of high school.

Horse a piece. Which one do you want to take?

http://www.engr.wisc.edu/cmsdocuments/cbe-undergraduate-handbook.pdf

I’d suggest looking at this and deciding if taking chemistry or math will benefit you with sequences required. If it were me, I would take chemistry as there are more chemistry courses required for that major that you will need to take once you get to Madison that you haven’t already satisfied vs. math courses so you should get a head start.

Take Chem 109 this fall and Math 234 in Spring because Chemisty 109 is only offered in fall semesters.

Regarding Chem 109 - one of the 3 lectures is honors. Just FYI. All of the Chem 109 lecture sections are accelerated. About 30% of students in Chem 109 earn an A.