Clubs vs Part-Time Job

I’m a student going into college, looking to major in aerospace engineering. My question is if money wasn’t an issue would it be better to get a part-time job unrelated to my major, or spend that time participating in more clubs related to my field. Which looks better on resumes and job applications?

Related is preferable to unrelated. And if money isn’t an issue, then why is this even a question?

1 Like

I didn’t understand if jobs would be more attracted to a student who had proper work experience, rather than someone who didn’t have work experience and only got experience through clubs.

If you’re asking in relation to college admissions, then my answer is as above. If it’s about future hourly wage jobs between now and college graduation, then it really depends.

Sorry, my question is unclear I’m referring to jobs out of college, so during college is it better for a part time job or a more clubs related to my major.

1 Like

Many kids who are financially able may not work during the school year at college, especially initially, but they usually have summer jobs. What you are asking isn’t mutually exclusive (clubs during the year but with real-world work experience).

Not everyone has the luxury to make those kinds of choices, though.

You are headed into college and aero. You likely won’t have time for a job. In college (not necessarily hs) a club would be better - maybe to help to get your resume seen. It depends what the club does. Some are more impactful than others, related or not.

But a part time job works well too.

Both show initiative.

If I was heading into my first year of engineering I would start with a club and gauge your available time. There’s also an engineering fraternity if interested.

Best of luck.

1 Like

I moved the thread out of High School Life.