College Decision- Help Me Decide

Help me decide colleges. I’m a transfer student from a California CC, but I also did two years at a a liberal arts college in MA. I am interested in studying film and working in Hollywood, like writing and directing, but not 100% sure. I currently live in LA and made connections at a few production companies in LA, but I am afraid I may lose those connections if I leave LA.

So here’s my dilemma: I’ll be listing the school, cost, why, and pros and cons, in order of ranking. Also, still not sure on what I want to do with my life.

I got into Columbia University in NYC, my dream school since I was like 13. But it will probably be between 50k-90k in loans. National Ranking top 10 or 18

Pros: Ivy League, NYC, reputation and prestige, top 20 colleges and universities nationally, great film program and other programs, name and brand recognition on resume, dream school, my resume will be read more than most other schools/applicants.

Cons: Student Loan cost (50-90k). Leaving my life in LA. I got into Columbia School of general studies, which is one of the 4 undergraduate schools at Columbia, which gives the least financial aid and is the less respected by some, but, I will just say Columbia University on resume and not distinguish. Sell my car/rent out car, major hit financially. Pay my car bill while in school, don’t know what to do with my car.

Boston University: Loans 8.5 k per year for 2-3 years. National ranking like 41.

Pros: Good school, Financial Aid is amazing for a school that costs like 80k, good film program.

Cons: Leave LA, Not a super great school for salary after, less than my liberal arts school in MA, rest start in LA, grade deflation, have to retake science, math, and other GE classes. Sell my car/rent out car, major hit financially. Pay my car bill while in school, don’t know what to do with my car.

Loyola Marymount University: Loans 80k without Financial Aid per year, or 41 k each year for 2-2.5 years or so.