College List Feedback [3.96, 33, "need full aid" with FAFSA EFC = $0]

Hello,

After many months of researching, I have compiled what I consider to be a fairly thorough list of colleges to apply to for myself. I am a student with a 3.96 GPA, family income near 0 EFC, and 33 ACT score, who would need full aid. I plan to join ROTC in college and have also researched campus culture heavily-I would not want somewhere consumed by frats, etc. I would very much like to attend college in DC and have thus included all schools in the territory excepting the all-female Trinity and Howard, owing to the musings of Howard alumni I know, who have complained rather seriously about the situation the college is in and the state of faculty. I have not decided on a major but it shall most likely be either history, communications, or a foreign language/area study.

I am interested in suggestions for colleges to cut or add, thoughts generally, feedback, etc.

Thank you.

The List

Reach:

Georgetown University

Princeton University

Harvard University

Yale University

Brown University

Target:

George Washington University

Fordham University

University of Rochester

Emerson College

Safe:

Catholic University of America

American University

I’m a little concerned that your target and safe schools might not be affordable. I think University of Rochester meets full need for all, but I don’t believe the others guarantee to do so.

This could be a serious obstacle for you. Your safe/sure things are not so if they are not affordable.

9 Likes

I think OP expects to get a ROTC scholarship

Will that pay the full cost of attendance? If so…than that’s a good thing.

Have you looked at Questbridge ?

While it may not get you to the location of choice , assuming a lower family income, the you could get a full ride. Much of your reach list participates and I believe, maybe incorrectly, it could help your odds.