Condit Bill

<p>Hey guys, I am applying to UC's but I am an OOS student. I have talked to UC admissions counselors and they told me I could be exempt from oos tuition under the Condit Bill (one parent instate one parents out of state). However, I was wondering whose parent info I will need to put on the fafsa....my oos parent (my mom) or my instate parent (my dad). I currently live with my mom. I would assume I'd put hers...but I am just curious and was wondering if I am correct or incorrect. I know I cant even fill it out till Jan, but it's just been a question that has been bugging me for a while. I would call the school, but it's the weekend. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thank you! :)</p>

<p>THe condit bill requires that you be dependent on a parent. Since your non-custodial parent lives in california and not your custodial parent it would be hard for you to establish dependency through california or the IRS. Also keep in mind that the exemption is only for one year.</p>

<p>the FAFSA is pretty straight forward, you have to put down the custodial parent who you lived with the most and provided the most support. This would be your mother (the OOS parent).</p>

<p>

</p>

<p>Other issues that you must take into consideration</p>

<p>

</a> </p>

<p>Part of the challenge is after the one year period is over, you will have to establish your own residency in california. This means</p>

<p>

</p>

<p>it is almost like a catch 22; you have to be able to prove that not only you can pay your tuition without parent support, but you must also be able to provide for your day to day without their support.</p>

<p>The short answer is that you put your mom on the FAFSA, and then also submit (directly to the school) all the additional documentation needed to prove that your dad has paid child support and/or claimed you as a dependent on his tax return.</p>