Cumulative GPA or "all institutional GPA", which will grad school consider?

I recently graduated as an undergraduate, but my cumulative GPA was an overall 3.6. However, my “all institution” GPA says 3.3 which is terrible if you want to attend post-graduate programs.

So I began with community college to work on my Associate’s Degree. I graduated with a 3.0 GPA (the first semester is the only semester that I got 1 D and mostly C’s, but after that, I never got anything lower than a B-). After finishing community college, I transferred to a 4-year college and did a lot stronger, graduating with a GPA of 3.6, but I wondered why I wasn’t eligible for Cum Laude until I saw that they added the grades from CC which equated to 3.3 overall (basically, if I wanted a 3.5 which is my goal, I had to finish 4-year college with a 4.0). But I don’t care about not earning the distinction, but my worry is will graduate school admission officers care about how I did in my 4-year school, or will they use the “all institution” GPA of 3.3?

Depends on what kind of graduate school in terms of how much your older college record will be weighted relative to your newer college record, or if there are other factors affecting which courses will be seen as more important.

1 Like

Grad schools are going to look at your full college academic record, but I expect some will give more weight to the more recent grades from the 4 year school.

What graduate programs are you looking to apply to? Your profs and/or college career center should be able to answer your questions. Good luck.

There are several key variables in grad school admissions, particularly the type of grad school and the field/subject, that affects the relative weight a program gives to test scores, LoRs, relevant experience and GPA (also, CGPA - cumulative gpa- and SGPA -subject gpa- are frequently considered separately).

What field/program are you looking at?