Current Boston College Student Answering Your Questions!

Hey all,

I’m a current BC student going into my senior year . I realized people might be making last minute decisions on choosing schools, or might have already accepted but wanted to ask questions without getting some generic response from admissions. So, I’m here to help if needed.

Hi! Thank you so much for doing this.

1. If I am in MCAS, would I be able to get a business degree if I decide to switch?
  2. Are there research opportunities and paid/unpaid internships?
  3. Do a lot of people study abroad?
  4. How would you describe the students?
  5. How do you like the dining?
  1. If you want to transfer from MCAS to CSOM, you need to be one of the lucky 10 acceptances each year (from an applicant pool of ~45). It is a lottery and completely luck-based. Additionally, you need to have a 3.4GPA in the semesters prior to you applying. You can still minor in any of the business subjects if you're in any other school. I wouldn't count on it, there's a very small chance.
  2. I haven't been involved with any on campus, but I know there are many opportunities to do research with professors on campus. You'll probably have to be Sophomore+ but there's definitely opportunities to do research on campus. As for internships, the career center is super helpful when it comes to helping students secure internships. They host career fairs where employers come to campus, resume reviews, workshops, and drop-in hours. If you manage to secure an unpaid internship, they also have a fellowship that can provide you funding. Check out the career center here: https://www.bc.edu/content/bc-web/offices/student-affairs/sites/careers.html
  3. Around 50% of students study abroad at some point. BC offers summer programs, as well as semester/year-long programs. There's programs all over the world. I studied abroad and I highly recommend doing it if it works with your schedule/finances.