Do I have to take calculus?

I am currently a junior taking precalculus. I am doing okay - I have an 87 in the class - but I do not enjoy it at all. I’m starting to think about my classes for next year and I really do not want to take calculus. I could take statistics, but my high school also has a class in personal finance, which actually interests me and I think it would be practical. Is it okay to take an “easy” math class?

My parents were super high achievers in school and don’t understand why I wouldn’t take calculus, but that’s not me. I am an A-/B+ student and I’m really busy with theater, dance, and cheer.

I am not going to major in a STEM field and I am looking at colleges with acceptance rates mostly in the 60-80% range. I will be taking AP Lit & AP Gov and a non-honors science class. Will skipping calculus hurt me?

Check the requirements of the colleges you are interested in but it’s probably ok.

You may take a major in college that will require it though…may…depending on the major.

Good luck.

1 Like

Personal finance does not usually count as a math, so if you need 4 years, take the stats class. It will serve you well in college. And still take personal finance - it will serve you well in life.

8 Likes

Ugh, you are right. It’s not college prep math so I guess it’s stats or calc for me.

1 Like

@onipl are you sure that your school does not offer a less rigorous math class? Something like “math 12” or “college math”? Many students are not strong in math but still need four years — I commend you for your thoughtful decision making and hope you find an alternative -speak with your guidance counselor to find out if there is another option that meets the math requirement.

4 Likes

I just looked up the course catalog and I have a few options.

Intro to Calculus
AP Calc AB
AP Calc BC
Intro to Statistics
AP Stats
Math for College (looks like a mix of precalc and stats?)
Data Science

Any advice?