Entering FYE in Fall 2017 and taking AP exams in May 2017?

I was recently admitted to Purdue (West Lafayette) for First Year Engineering Fall 2017. I am an international student. It’s kinda late in the day, but I wanted to know if I can still take some AP exams (Physics, Calculus, Chemistry) in May 2017 and use that credit to satisfy some first year course requirements? Most of the syllabus in first year is the same compared to what we learn in high-school.

You can take the exams. However Purdue may not let you skip all classes that you think you already learned.

At a campus visit to Purdue specifically for potential engineering applicants they warned heavily against using AP credits to satisfy FYE requirements. Perhaps it would be ok to use your English or History credits, but they very much recommended you not use your Calc AP credits at least.

@carachel2 Oh I see. Why is that? Perhaps I can not all American students study the syllabus in school. Or Purdue might fear people just study for the test and get the score. But seeing the curriculum and the textbooks on the academics website, and previous Purdue exams… I didn’t really come across any new portions.

@tanlui98 I believe they feel their first year engineering courses are much more in-depth than the AP classes and cover more material.

You should contact admissions or an engineering representative to see if it is even allowed to do what you are planning to do.

@carachel2 I was basing my plan on https://www.admissions.purdue.edu/transfercredit/collegeboardap.php .I have emailed admissions, but I’ve received no response so far. I can understand the university’s perspective. They’d want the students to be comfortable with course material of higher courses, which have the first-year courses as pre-requisites. That’s the most reasonable reason I can think of. However, I will try to confirm with admissions department.