Ever feel stuck/not wanting to stay at a job but still not ready to leave?

28F, I got my bachelors back in 2018 & got my first job in higher education upon graduating. I worked in academic advising for about 2 yrs & it was a really bad experience (with the staff/mgmt). After I found a job at another school in career services & left after 3 months b/c the boss was neurotic. After being w/out a job for 6 months, I found my current job in financial aid at another school working from home.

I’m told by mgmt that I’m good at my job but I really don’t feel ready to work in leadership yet (mgmt thinks I’m capable). I will say I don’t really like working overall, the only thing keeping me at this job is the fact that I don’t have any tension w my coworkers & on good terms with mgmt (been here almost 2 yrs). The job overall is overwhelming & I had to go on leave for 3 months bc I felt burnt out. I was offered a job in the same company/different dept, while on leave I was offered a job at a different company & declined both.

I wanted to leave b/c of the pay too but with my annual raise it’s more in line with other companies & don’t see the point in leaving. Seeking a job that really checks my boxes role wise & has to bring in more pay substantially. Is this a common feeling or am I unrealistic? It just makes me so anxious

Perhaps you would benefit by seeing a career counselor to help sort out your likes and strengths ans how they might help with a job search.

In addition…you haven’t been happy at any job, it seems. I wonder if it might be worth some personal counseling to sort out why this keeps happening to you.

4 Likes

Ever feel stuck/not wanting to stay at a job but still not ready to leave?

Yes - every day - I make too much to leave and no one else would pay me what I make for what I do.

And I’m not willing to take a huge pay hit to do something else (if I could even find something more enjoyable).

In your case, you’re early career - and you have to decide.