Exchange Student from Australia to Wisconsin-Madison

<p>Hi there!
I am a student at a university in Australia that is considering doing an exchange to Wisconsin-Madison next year.
I am studying an undergraduate Arts/Law degree but I would only be pursing the Arts part of the degree on my exchange. Any honest comments on the French and Ancient History/History programs at Wisconsin-Madison would be greatly appreciated.
More generally, I am wondering what students' impressions of Wisconsin-Madison are like? Would it be easy for an exchange student to make friends? How big are tutorials, classes and/or lecturers? Is it a 'commuter' campus? What is the student life like? Are there many activities/events on campus?
Any other relevant comments would be GREATLY appreciated.
Thank you.</p>

<p>It has everything you want. Few commuters, great for your subjects, lots going on, and they will love your accent.</p>

<p>I'd add that the French Department is among the top 10 (some say 5) departments in the USA and includes La Maison Francaise on campus for French only meals and events:</p>

<p>French</a> and Italian Website | University of Wisconsin - Madison
The</a> French House at the University of Wisconsin - Madison</p>

<p>Classics is strong. The History Department is also a top 10 program. Campus is very social and kids are outgoing. Lots of school spirit and social places to hang out like the student union. It's one of the largest schools in the US with students active in tons of organizations. You'll love it.</p>

<p>Liberal campus, friendly. Go for it.</p>

<p>Thanks everyone for their thoughts. Really helpful.
Just wondering though. I come from a really big university in Australia with really big class sizes, so I am looking to go on exchange somewhere a bit smaller. Are classes overcrowded?
Just one other thing...Do most students live on campus? What is the residential life like in this sense.