Experiences in PWI vs. HBCUs

My second child is beginning to think about colleges. I would love to hear about the experiences of other African-American students at both predominantly white institutions and also HBCUs since I am encouraging her to consider historically black colleges, but I don’t have any personal experience with them beyond having attended parties on Howard’s campus when I was an undergraduate a gazillion years ago. Frankly, much of my concern stems from anticipated change in demographics at some colleges that may occur after the imminent Supreme Court ruling. While she has attended PWIs her entire life, the schools have all had around 35-40% BIPOC students including about 10-15% black students. I am trying to imagine her thriving at a college in which the % of black students drops to the low single digits.

Part of my concern is certainly the social aspects of potentially being the only black kid in her dorm, clubs, and social activities. I am also a somewhat worried about that the sorts of lectures, readings, events, and performances that happen on college campuses might change with radical demographic changes. Currently, she seems interested in colleges in more rural or suburban settings, but if the campus demographics change, I would want her to consider attending college in or close to an urban area.