Feeling Lonely

<p>I am a freshman girl who lives in a single suite (due to a medical condition). At first I was excited to finally have my own room! But, now I am really regretting it because I feel isolated, lonely, and sad. I don’t know anyone in the Tuscaloosa area. Even though I am a shy person, I never had problems making friends until now. Everyone seems to want to only talk/hang out with their roommates. I want to talk to my parents about it, but I don’t want to worry them more. </p>

<p>Is it normal to feel this way? Does anyone have any tips?
Thank You!</p>

<p>Which dorm are you in?</p>

<p>It’s a slow time right now before classes start. It will help to go to all the WOW activities. You will definitely need to put yourself in situations where you can meet people. Also, you might reach out to your RA. She might be able to connect with you with others who are feeling the same way. </p>

<p>Classes start soon! That will help, but you will probably find that joining some groups will help the most. What are you interested in?</p>

<p>I am in Riverside North!</p>

<p>I am very interested in community service and anything dealing with science, math or art.</p>

<p>That’s great. There are lots of opportunities for community service. I’m not sure when Get on Board day is, but there will be organizations set up for you to stop by and get info. Do you have any interest in church or synagogue? Most have campus groups that are a great way to get to know other students and also typically offer ways to serve the community.</p>

<p>As lattelady suggested, you should definitely try to take part in some of the WOW activities. That’s what they’re for. :)</p>

<p>Isn’t WOW just kicking off? I suggest that you reach out and get connected. Lots of students will be participating in WOW.</p>

<p>[Week</a> of Welcome](<a href=“Weeks of Welcome - University Programs”>Weeks of Welcome - University Programs)</p>