French 3

Hey, So I’m a student in French at my high school. I’m currently a sophomore and I’ve been doing French since sixth grade. I was wondering if I could get some tips on how to improve my French speaking skills. I’l technically in my fifth year of French but I can’t speak very well though I can understand text fairly ok. I have a problem with understanding spoken French. Should I go to France? For exchange in my senior year. What websites can help or apps to speak to natives. I’ve done my share of searching but I’ve just gotten quite confused. I would like to be able to speak at least lower-high French by the time I graduate high school

Nothing like language immersion if you can live in France with a French family for a few months. There are various commercial programs like Rosetta Stone, but I have no idea how effective they are. A cheap/fun way to at least practice understanding is if you have a Netflix, Amazon, Hulu, etc… account and stream some French language programs or movies. Honestly, TV is how I learned English when my family moved here.

To learn any second (or third) language well you have to use it.

One thing that you can do is to watch TV shows and movies in French. Do you have Netflix? If so, there are some good French movies. There is one comedy “Gad Gone Wild” which is hilarious, and is in French (the same comedian also has a performance on Netflix in English, which would not help you). If you can find sporting events or news in French watching them has the advantage that you will have some idea what they are likely to be talking about. I did just now find a short segment from a French Language political debate regarding the upcoming Canadian election on the French version of CBC (ici Radio-Canada).

Do you know anyone who speaks French? One thing that I did in high school was to spend about 1 or 2 hours once per week speaking French with a friend of my parents who was fluent bilingual. This really helped a lot.