Freshman considering a transfer. Talk me out of it :(

<p>Ok, I'm a Freshman here at UW, and to say the least, I'm miserable. Academically I love this place and I've done outstanding so far. However, outside of class I just feel completely and utterly 100% alone. Everyone hangs out with their high school friends and it seems like the only way to make friends is to go to parties and get drunk. </p>

<p>Being OOS, so far, has pretty much made it impossible to make "good" friends. The kids in my hall all like me and hang out with me (and me with them) but it's nothing more than the fact that I'm part of the party crew. Nobody here just likes to hang out and relax, talk about interesting things, etc. </p>

<p>Basically, I'm thinking of transferring. I feel like a loser to give up this early, but I just feel so completely alienated that I don't really know what to do but go home to ASU where at least I'll have friends and family and a way to just cut loose after a long day. </p>

<p>I don't mean this to be a knock on UW, which is everything academically that I had hoped it would be. Socially, however, I am essentially adrift, and the actual town of Madison isn't very helpful either. Rather depressing place when compared to the town in Arizona I come from (bums are famous around here and it's ok to have prostitutes solicit sex at 4:30 in the afternoon in taco bell from a 70 year old man?)</p>

<p>I'd love to stay here, but I feel like I'm the only person in the universe who I can talk to. Who would I tell these things to here? I can think of nobody who would care to listen. Hopefully somebody has some wisdom they can impart on me, but I have to say, that acceptance of my transfer to ASU looks more appealing every day.</p>