Getting jobs in CA with a UA degree? (mechanical engineering)

I’m deciding between UC Davis and UA, and was wondering if it will be harder to get a job in CA with a UA degree versus one from UC Davis. (Considering all other factors the same.) Thank you.

While there are some employers who will prefer specific schools, with engineering the focus is more on what grades one received in an accredited program and if one had any professional work experience in terms of internships or co-ops.

Regardless of the the school one attends, the challenge in finding full time employment is getting an interview and then convincing the hiring manager to hire you.

Wow - those are contrasting schools! I graduated from UCD (about 20 years ago) and have a son currently at Bama. Both are fantastic schools - with very different personalities. Obviously for sports, Bama trumps Davis in a big way. I loved the casual, kick-back, veggie, bike-riding culture of Davis (presuming it’s still the same). Bama has much more of a Greek presence and a formal, southern, personality. As @sea_tide said - it depends on what you’re interested in as far as careers. My first “real” job after I left UCD was in Detroit - working for a company that was recruiting across the country. Good luck with your decision. You can’t go wrong either way.

“considering all factors are the same”

wouldn’t be any harder.

Have you visited Bama yet?

@howtosaveuhlife‌ I am from California and I’m currently a freshman at UA. I have cousins who went to UCD for enginnering and I looked at it as well. It was by far my favorite UC! If you have any specific questions regarding programs at both schools feel free to PM me.