Grade Inflation at Colleges, especially in the world of Covid

Having attended my son’s graduation this weekend, and my daughters last year, and seeing people posting on social media, it seems like the majority of kids are graduating Cum Laude or greater (and way many Summa!) . I know many colleges during Covid allowed students to change classes to P/F, which likely contributed. Also while I know many students struggled with online classes (and I assume these same kids took LOA amoungst other things), those who did not, at least in my circles, seemed to indicated that the professors were much more leniant.
Because I dont have a sampling from years ago to compare, has it been this way for a while , or is this new. When I graduated back in the 80s with just lowly 3.0 in engineering that was considered great.
My S did have online classes , but also was fortunate to still have some in person classes. This last semester was almost all in person and he did not get “Straight A’s”. He also never did the P/F thing for any classes as he wanted to be “True to himself”. I think he still would have graduated with honors. My D who was less affected with Covid classes had a tougher time just getting Cum Laude, but her final all online semester she got a 4.0. Would that have happened in person?

Thoughts everyone?

Grade inflation takes away from those who are truly outstanding. It levels the playing field into a single tier. No one has killed it in any subject. So society loses. We cannot determine who the next geniuses are in any field because everyone is a genius and everyone is getting their trophy.
(no one gets to play in a real game where there are winners and losers because those who think everyone is a winner are the refs).