Graduating in three years?

My current sophomore is in a position to be able to graduate next year. We are full pay at her school (UPenn), so we are encouraging her to do so. I feel kind of bad but it is definitely a financial hardship, especially with a younger sibling (junior in HS). Anyone else in this situation?

2 Likes

My daughter graduated a year early last May, worked out great because she is now in a 3 year graduate program. My oldest got her 4 +1 masters in accounting in 4 1/2, commuted for the last semester. I have a sophomore who was on track to graduate a year early but now might take more classes as there are a couple of pathways to her intended career. I did feel a little sad for my recent grad since she lost 1 1/2 years of in person classes due to Covid but she’s very happy.

3 Likes

I graduated early back in the day to save money. I don’t regret it.

If a kid really wants to stick around campus for senior year, perhaps they can share a nearby off-campus apartment with some current students and work. I knew somebody who did this, and even worked for their former university (maybe in admissions or student life, I can’t remember.)

5 Likes

My DD’19 graduated in 3 years. At first she wasn’t sure she wanted to miss out on a fourth year but as it turned out most of her friends were graduating too so that reduced her social FOMO. I showed her the money savings (part of which she was responsible for) and left it up to her. Note: her small public wasn’t very expensive- if it was a financial hardship for us I surely would have pushed her harder lol. Anyway, she has no regrets.

It definitely helped that her BF followed her for internships and then she followed him to his grad school, so the most important person from college is still around. :wink: She is working full time in her field at his university. At age 21 she has employees under her, a retirement account, and is moving up the ladder.

2 Likes