Guess what the #1 question I've been asked at Career Fairs here at VT

<p>What's your GPA? </p>

<p>Just want to share my experience for those interested in career fairs here:</p>

<p>I'm a senior CS student and just attended a career fair today. I attended Engineering Expo's in the past just to get a feel for what's out there and will probably attend one last time this week. Anyway, I could not believe how many times I was asked that question. Since my cumulative GPA is a 2.6(got killed in Computer Engineering) and my in-major is a 2.98 I leave them off my resume since they are below the all or nothing deciding "3.0". One company I talked to (not a big name like Google or Microsoft relatively unknown) I approached and started talking and the first thing he asked was "what is your GPA?" Then after telling him he points at this 3.7+ GPA requirement (I guess I accidentally missed) and started going on this spiel about how their company looks for the serious minded and the best of the best and how GPA is the best predictor of job performance and how he took classes he didn't want to take but still got A's. I felt like I was being grilled and I just asked for my resume back and said nice talking to you.</p>

<p>Now that has never happened to me before and it was just 1 of nearly 100 companies there so it's not all like that and not all recruiters are that arrogant but I guess it just goes to say that GPA really is just an easy cut off at these career fairs sadly. </p>