Hi! I'm Joy, new Senior Editor at CC

Hello! I’m Joy, the new Senior Editor of College Confidential. I’m excited to be a part of the passionate and knowledgeable community here at CC, and I wanted to take a minute to introduce myself.

I’m a proud graduate of Kenyon College, where I majored in English and Creative Writing. I was one of the lucky ones who got to watch David Foster Wallace deliver his now-iconic graduation speech “This is Water” for the first time. (It’s a great watch or read if you haven’t heard it before.)

After a few (fun!) years working in book publishing in New York City, I earned a master’s degree in psychology from The New School, and then spent several years as a coach supporting both prospective and enrolled college students with their educational journeys. Over the past few years, I’ve combined my love of writing with my background in higher education by creating content for students and institutions. I’m also mom to two boys, and while they’re not thinking about college YET, I’m excited to pick up some tips from you all along the way.

Our forums are the heart of the CC community, and so now I’d love to hear from you! What brought you to CC and what keeps you coming back? Which college-related topics and questions are top of mind for you? What kind of content do you want to see more (or less) of? I’d love to hear your thoughts or suggestions below.

And if you’re a student, parent, or admissions professional who is interested in being on our list of possible contributors, you can reach me directly at editorial@collegeconfidential.com. Thank you all for being part of this community!

6 Likes

Not much to add as I generally just look for questions where my two cents might matter, but welcome here!