How beneficial is the IB Program?

<p>Hi all. I am an incoming sophomore and I was given the opportunity to transfer to a school with a IB Program for my Junior/Senior years. The school I am currently at offers around 8 AP Courses. I have read many 'IB vs AP' threads but it seems those threads are comparing schools that have wonderful AP classes to the IB Program. Unfortunately, the school I am currently at does not. At my current school, they do not offer many AP classes. And sometimes, they might not even offer an AP class because not enough students are enrolled in that class. Do you all think it would be beneficial for me to switch to the IB Program at a different school? I would love to study economics in college and I have found that IB seems to offer many classes that relate to economics. They school I am considering transferring to would let me enroll in AP courses while under the IB diploma. Would transferring to a school that offers IB help me prepare for pursuing a career in economics? Would it help me in college admissions? </p>

<p>Thanks for your help.</p>

<p>You’ve got a few questions so I’ll start from the top:</p>

<ol>
<li><p>Keep in mind that school transfers aren’t as easy as you might think, if you currently have a well established group of friends it can be hard to leave them, if you are a shy and reclusive person then you will have difficulty adjusting to the new environment with its established social circles. If you’re outgoing, a school switch could propel you to the center of the social scene. Just something that you should consider that most people forget about.</p></li>