How many BS should my daughter apply to?

I am an inexperienced parent for BS applications and would appreciate some guidance from this forum. My daughter is applying to boarding schools, mostly on East Coast. We want to cast a wide net (perhaps 20 schools). I have two questions: 1) Could some of you tell me how many schools you applied to? 2) I am worried that my daughter’s Math and English teachers will not be able to handle rec letters for 20 schools. Do you know if they will be able to upload an identical rec letter to these schools, or does each of the school require the teacher to write something different? I was hoping it would be the former; otherwise, it will be a lot of work for the teacher to finish rec letters for 20 schools. Thanks!

Hi! Welcome to the forum (:

I’m a current freshman, reapplying as a new sophomore.

1. These are my school lists!

Last year:

• Exeter
  • Andover
  • Choate
  • Concord Academy
  • St. Mark’s
  • Groton
  • St. Paul’s

I got waitlisted everywhere except for Andover, where I got rejected!

This year:

• Concord Academy
  • St. Mark’s
  • Putney
  • Miss Porter’s
  • Westover
  • Brooks
  • Hotchkiss
  • Middlesex
  • Masters
  • NMH

I found schools that I think fit me a lot more and it’s definitely a wider range too! I’m a lot more confident in my chances. It isn’t twenty schools and I think the general recommendation is 6 for full pay and a little more for financial aid (at least that’s what I heard from a BS panel), but the recommendation from this forum is 15 especially for competitive years which last year was.

1. Yes, they’ll be able to send identical letters to the schools! It’ll differ between application platforms (Gateway, SAO, Ravenna, etc.) but all of the schools you’re applying to within that platform will have identical recommendations (unless a school has a supplementary recommendation required)

Have a great day!

1 Like