How much will Hispanic help me?

<p>I am a good student, and look to apply to some of the top colleges and universities, but I am unsure how much being Hispanic will help me.</p>

<p>Allow me to clarify, I am first generation from Spain, not form Latin America. As far as my research has informed me though, and according to the common app, this is considered Hispanic. My flaws come with my grades and test scores. Although I dream of going to a very good school, my grades are not of genius standards, but they are still good. Same story goes in terms of my SAT scores. I am involved in many leadership roles, many of them reflecting my focus on business and international affairs. Would being hispanic give me a significant edge? How much does it ACTUALLY help? Even more, being from Spain is exclusive enough, for there are not many people from there in the US. Here are my stats...</p>

<p>GPA is out of 4.0, unweighted</p>

<p>Freshman- gpa 4.0</p>

<p>Sophomore- gpa 3.5
Honors Chem
Honors Algebra 2
Honors Spanish Lang
L1 History
L1 English
L1 Latin</p>

<p>Junior- 3.65
L1 Precalc
L1 Physics
Honors Latin
AP Literature
AP Spanish Lit
L1 History</p>

<p>Senior- do not know yet, most likely 3.7
AP Biology
AP Psychology
AP Art History
AP English Language
AP Calculus AB
Honors Latin
Independent study for spanish; something business-related</p>

<p>SAT: 1900
Recommendation letters: very good
Class Rank- top 10%</p>

<p>I am very like-able and my interview will surely be to my favor.</p>

<p>President Spanish Honors Society
Officer Latin Honors Society
President Model UN
President Future Business Leaders of America
Editor for school news paper
Business manager for school news paper
Varsity Tennis Team 4 years</p>

<p>American Legion Boys' State Award
Fairfield University Book Award
National Latin Exam- Gold 9th and 10th
National Spanish Exam- Gold 10th and 11th</p>

<p>College Choices in order... which one should I apply early to?</p>

<p>Cornell (ILR Program)
Brown
UPenn