How to Frat?

<p>I’m about to start my second year at UA. You guys would call me an OOS I think, (out of state?). I won’t bother mentioning what state I’m from… The reason I’m making a thread is because I decided sometime last year that I want to do a sophomore rush. </p>

<p>No one in my family went greek and I had no plans on it when coming to Alabama. I really had no knowledge of how the greek system worked and still hardly do. I got asked a lot whether I was ‘rushing’ at the beginning of the year but nobody explained what it was. Point is I really know next to nothing of the greek system, particularly at Bama. </p>

<p>I’m a scholarship student so keeping up my grades is important. I managed a whole year of heavy engineering course load my first year and have switched majors to business with a much lighter schedule this fall. My plan is to get a part time or full-time job during school to pay my dues and other costs. I’d like to be financially independent from my parents for everything if I can. If you guys could give me some estimates of semesterly dues for frats at Alabama I’ll have a better idea of what it is. I’ve heard fraternity dues range from 10k to $500 a semester. Which gives me really no idea of what to expect. </p>

<p>Although other threads have pointed out that a sophomore rush is beneficial to allow oos students to get to know the frats, it didn’t help me much and I only know a small handful of greek guys.</p>

<p>I’m a blank slate here, help appreciated.</p>

<p>As a sophomore, the important thing to do at this point is to get on the rush lists for various fraternities and attend some of their events. Talk to your friends who are in fraternities and ask all of your friends which fraternities they’d recommend you to pledge. Many GDIs are actually quite familiar with the various fraternities, especially if they attend a lot of events hosted by fraternities/sororities.</p>