How to increase chance of getting in good college?

Hello friends
I am currently a freshman and I want to get into good top colleges. How do I increase my chances? I know I have to get a good GPA and get a good act score but besides that how do I increase my chances? Does participating in school sports increase my chances? Does taking a lot of ap/honors classes increase my classes? Does volunteering increases my chances? I would appreciate your help. also, I don’t know If I put this in a right category
Thanks

Firstly, getting into a good top college and getting into a college that is meant for you are two different colleges. A lot of colleges in the US are pretty outstanding and are among the best in the world. The big names and all are nothing and are not for everyone- so I would suggest following a heart and finding a school that speaks to you. Find your passions and stick to them and with finding college find yourself. You got this :smile:

Hands down the best advice you will get:

You might think that b/c it’s been around for a while that things have changed, but you would be wrong!

3 Likes

Take 5 core classes each year: English, Math, Foreign language, Social science, Science.
Among those, 8 (total) should be AP, including calculus if you’re able to (precalculus+AP statistics otherwise), history, and before you take an AP science make sure you have taken bio/chem/physics.

Become great at something you’re currently good at.
Be/make a positive impact in your community (neighborhood, faith group, school…)

4 Likes

I like the “Applying Sideways” blog.