How to increase the chance of getting into a good college?

Hello friends
I am currently a freshman and I want to get into good top colleges. How do I increase my chances? I know I have to get a good GPA and get a good act score but besides that how do I increase my chances? Does participating in school sports increase my chances? Does taking a lot of ap/honors classes increase my chances? Does volunteering increases my chances? I would appreciate your help. also, I don’t know If I put this in a right category
Thanks

2 posts were merged into an existing topic: How to increase chance of getting in good college?

Academics: You want to take the most challenging classes you can but still do well in. It isn’t about who takes the most AP wins…but do try to take some. Don’t think you need to "pad’ your APs by taking like AP Env Science (unless you are into that.)

Sports; Do sports if you like sports.
Music: Do music if you like music.

Clubs/volunteering: Top private colleges do want to see you have interests outside academics…and they like to see you give back to the community and show leadership. But all of these should be in areas of interest to you.

Jobs: Some people need to work. I would work/volunteer in the summer if possible.

Check out “How to be a High School Superstar” by Cal Newport.