HS Foreign Language Requirement - Stanford

<p>I am currently a high school student finishing up his junior year in high school. Upon formulating my schedule for the next year, I ran into a little problem. Our school is changing its scheduling system to convert to 7 periods of 1 hour classes, which would only allow me to take 7 classes at any point during the year. There are four classes that I have to take in order to graduate. The other three classes are AP Calculus, French III, and AP Psychology. However, students taking three or more AP classes (I will be in at least 3, them being ) are going to be forced to take a period of Directed Studies, where homework and the like would be done. As I am set on taking AP Cal, I am forced to decide to choose between cutting out French III or AP Psychology.</p>

<p>My question is this: What type of foreign language requirement is required for admission or consideration for Stanford? I am generally weak in French, and although I averaged an A (or A-) in French I, I have struggled a bit this year (B+ range) and am not sure I will succeed come next year. It is my understanding that Stanford requires 3 or more years of a foreign language... On the other hand, I really would like to take Psychology for several reasons, including general interest in the subject and the experience I would gain from it. Would the fact that it is an AP course help me, or am I better off trying French III in my senior year?</p>

<p>I wasn’t aware that Stanford had any specific course requirements for admission. I am not certain about this so maybe someone else knows for sure. There are many Stanford students who are fluent in a foreign language without taking high school classes. </p>