I got a 3.75 my first semester at a top LAC. Am I screwed?

Hey everyone,

I’m currently a freshman at a top liberal arts school (think Williams, Amherst, Middlebury) and I’m really keen on transferring. I think the NESCACs are just too isolated. Unfortunately i got a 3.75 gpa my first semester (3x -A, 1x A). Is it over for me if I wanted to transfer to a better school like cornell, duke, georgetown, dartmouth, penn, ect?

1 Like

What is the academic reason you want to transfer? That will be what needs to be on your application to the schools you listed.

Your grades are fine?..in my opinion.

2 Likes

Is it April Fools Day?

You could have a 3.75 at directional state U - it’s still a 3.75.

And a top liberal arts school isn’t any better or worse than the others you mentioned. They are different but not better or as you note - worse.

hmmmm - screwed is probably not the word I would use to describe your situation.

I do think you need a reality check on both of your premises - the “horrid” GPA (not) and that the LACs are not “better”. Maybe they’re not better for you - but they’re certainly not worse than the other list you’ve provided.

If you want to transfer - and I’d hope you’d give it more time - but if you want to transfer, then go ahead and try. Whether or not you have the opportunity - the schools will decide.

If you want out so bad, you might add other schools that might be easier admits. Or is only schools at this level you are willing to leave for?

Anyway, congrats on your success but I do think your perspective is a tad off.

Good luck.

I’d love to add a few more schools that are easier admits, but i can’t. I’m not happy where I am and i definitely need a change of pace, but my father said he wouldn’t pay my tuition any more if i went to any school worse than where i’m at.

i need a community more conducive to entrepreneurship, my current school doesn’t provide that.