I started college in Brazil, but dropped out before getting any credits, and now want to apply for college in the US

Hello, I graduated from High School this year, on March, though I was actually supposed to graduate on December, last year, but there was a delay because of the pandemic. I finished High School on a Brazilian public school during the Covid-19 pandemic, so it was really messy, and it was kind of impossible to really learn anything on the last to years of my High School. For example, I didn’t have a Math teacher for almost a whole year, and my Biology teacher didn’t have a computer, so I also didn’t have Biology classes for a year. I had to complete my last year of High School in only 7 months, so I didn’t have time for anything other than studying and doing coursework, I almost didn’t sleep. Because of all that, it felt like it was impossible for me to go study in the US, which had been my dream for a long time. So, when I passed in a Brazilian university on March, this year, right after I graduated High School, my family pressured me into enrolling, and I went along. I only took three months of classes on my university here, and didn’t earn any credits, before dropping out. I was very unhappy there, for multiple reasons, some personal, and also I wasn’t ready to start college right after my High School, which taught me almost nothing and was hell. So I decided to drop out, and to learn all the things that I hadn’t learned on High School, and than go to college. I really want to apply to the US this fall, but I don’t know if I have any chances of getting accepted, since my secondary studies were so messy, and because I started college somewhere else and now I’m kind of in a gap year.

First things first- what is your budget?

5 Likes

Given your shaky high school experience, I’d suggest taking some community college classes first. Lots of foreign students do this.

2 Likes