Importance of Further Mathematics HL

I am an American student who really wants to study at MIT or Cambridge for university, my question is should I do further mathematics IF I already have IB maths HL and AP calc BC. On the Cambridge website, it says the Uni strong recommend taking further maths while MIT does not mention anything about further math. Plse give me some advices

The number of kids who take IB Further Math exam each year is only 150-200 (globally).
http://www.ibo.org/about-the-ib/facts-and-figures/statistical-bulletins/diploma-programme-statistical-bulletin/

Therefore I do not think it is necessary to take IB Further Math to be admitted to MIT (in fact the rigor of the course is not widely known by the US colleges). It may slightly improve your chances if you perform well. Please check the exam results from the link above, you’ll see that it is not very easy to perform well.

IB Further Math is not your only tool to show MIT/Cambridge that you are good in math and that you chose the most rigorous math courses etc. You can achieve the same by taking Multivar or some other university level math courses. If your school offers an IB Further Math course, you might consider taking it. Otherwise, if you’re thinking to self study, you’d better forget it, it will not worth the effort. In the latter case, I think it’s better to consider a course your school offers (or a course in a community college near you).

I believe the Further Math that Cambridge is recommending is not IB Further Math but A Level Further Math (which is very close to IB Math HL).

@dodosol thank you, and should I transfer to a private school only because they offer further maths? Im in a state school now