Is 17 credits too much? (Freshman here)

Hi, I’m a freshman planning my class schedule for next spring semester. I come with zero credits and need 122 to graduate, so that means i should take about 16 per semester to graduate in 4 years.

My current 4 classes in the list:
Math - Linear Algebra (4 credits)
CS - Object-Oriented Programming in Java (3 credits)
Intro Psych (3 credits)
English II (3 credits)

Totals to 13 credits. I need to take one more class, and it’s either one of these:

Earth Science with lab (4 credits)
History - American Constitution (3 credits)

I am definitely not good at History, so I figured taking it with the known-to-be difficult Linear Algebra class might not be a good idea. However, the Earth Science class has 4 credits and an 8 AM lab (though it’s most likely easier than History); I’m scared of not being able to manage my time. If i do take that Earth class I’ll have 17 credits.

Please give me advice on which class to take, and whether it will be the right choice to take 17 credits.

Thank you

I would talk to your advisor first and get their input. Also see if you can talk to students who have taken the two courses you are considering to ask about course load. Does your school use ratemyprofessor? If so, look there too!

In my daughter’s experience, there wasn’t much difference between a 3 and 4 credit class in terms of work load so my advice is to take the class that seems most interesting to you.

5 Likes

This is what stands out to me. The difference between a course that you are good at versus a course that you are not good at, IMHO, is likely to have more impact on the difficulty than the difference between 3 credits and 4 credits.

History can also in some cases require a large amount of reading. This leads to the obvious question of how you feel about an 8am lab versus a lot of reading.