Is it worth applying to GW or American if one needs a full ride?

Hello,

While Georgetown or Princeton are my number one schools, I would love to attend college in DC and thus have been interested in George Washington University & American University as safe schools. However, neither seem to have financial aid options for non-DC residents that include room and board. I am a low income student but would quality for both merit and need based aid. I’ve also looked at CUA despite not being Catholic as they offer room & board to ROTC students (which I intend to pursue) and are also in DC, but, of course, AU & GW are more politically focused.

Would it be worth even taking the time (and perhaps money depending on the fee waiver situation) to apply to either GW or AU considering my financial need?

1 Like

yes! i applied to GW this year and received 22k per year as a presidential merit based scholarship. they give out other levels of merit but I would def shoot my shot with GW!!

2 Likes

At, GW Tuition and fees are covered for ROTC and some majors qualify for grants to be used for room & board. I don’t think the regular merit would be given to a ROTC student as it is only for tuition. Navy ROTC is on-campus and Air Force and Army are through a consortium:

American participates in the ROTC consortium for Army & Air Force, so you would need to check with them to see what funds are available. I would assume that tuition and fees are covered.

https://consortium.org/

4 Likes

American covers 93% of need on average. They fully cover about 70% of the people that get FA. Without applying, it is hard to know exactly what you financially aid package would look like. The concerning part of American is that the numbers seem to decrease for sophomores-seniors.

1 Like

The US Naval Academy in Annapolis may be worth considering if you are looking at ROTC for the schools you mentioned. Annapolis is just east of DC, a suburb really.

1 Like