Is It Worth it....?

<p>Hello! I’ve been admitted to the University of Alabama, however I am an out of state student. Chances are I probably would have to take out a ton of loans as well due to the fact that my GPA isn’t high enough for any merit scholarships. Unless U of Alabama is extremely generous in terms of financial aid (Is it?). Does anyone honestly believe that paying OOS tuition would be worth it? For those of you wondering why I would want to pay OOS tuition is for the environment and the culture. The ROLL TIDE and etc. Opinions please? Thank you. </p>

<p>Alabama is a great school, but there is no way my son would even be considering the school as an out of student unless he had been awarded the merit aid. Have you run the net price calculator to see what they estimate would be your cost to attend? I could never encourage someone to take out loans to finance the out of state tuition no matter the environment and culture. You might be better served by attending an in-state college you can afford without taking out loans and then travel to Alabama once or twice a year to watch a game or something. But to take out nearly $40k a year (probably could not get that much financing anyway), for the opportunity to yell “Roll Tide!” - well, you would be paying for that experience for years to come. Not worth it.</p>

<p>This question is asked often on the Alabama forum, and no matter how much all of us love the school and all it represents, the answer is always the same. Do not incur a huge student debt to attend an out of state college as an undergraduate. Period. </p>

<p>ditto to all that was said above.</p>

<p>^ definitely agree with the past three posts.</p>

<p>No, you should NOT take out a bunch of loans. Besides, your parents probably would NOT cosign those loans anyway because they’re a bad idea.</p>

<p>How much will your parents pay each year for college? What is your EFC? </p>