Lack of AP classes at Lawrence Academy

Hi,

My daughter was accepted at Lawrence Academy for 9th grade. I noticed the highest level of courses is Honors and they no longer offer AP classes. Any input as to how or if this affects College acceptance? We are not shooting for IVY, but possibly NESCAC (New England Small College Athletic Conference) schools. Thanks for any input

It won’t. The question has been asked a million times before.

Many boarding schools have reduced the AP offerings or eliminated them completely because they don’t want to teach to the test. But they still offers courses that are at or beyond AP level.

Depending on the course, some students still take the AP exam

9 Likes

Most boarding schools have stopped AP classes. This does not mean the classes are any less rigorous. And all colleges know this. It is a total nonissue.

4 Likes

Thank you. I’m new to the Independent School Curriculum and a friend told me that As in AP Courses from a public school are worth more to colleges than an A or B in a Prep School Honors class. She doesn’t have kids in Independent/BS, I think she was trying to talk me out of an Independent School Curriculum.

Your friend doesn’t know what she’s talking about

8 Likes

My thoughts exactly, lol but figured I would ask the experts! There are many reasons we are opting for an Independent school vs local public (which we have an excellent LPS) but the Independent School offers even more than a great public school in our opinion! I have also noticed some people say LA isn’t a very rigorous school vs the Groton/Middlesex options where we live, so was just trying to get the pulse of the academic feel. Thank you!

If your child attends a school which doesn’t have APs, then they will not be punished for not taking any.