Looking for large urban "match" and "safety" schools with good financial aid

This is my first time starting a thread in College Confidential. I have learned so much from reading other posts since my daughter (2022) introduced me to this site last year.

I am looking for “match” and “safety” schools for my son (2024). His only desires right now are something big and urban. He is open any part of the country.

He is a good all around student, but from reading college confidential I know that there are hundreds of thousands of other students just like him. He has unweighted 4.0, I think weighted about 4.5. He hasn’t taken the ACT or SAT yet, but on practice tests has been scoring about 34/1510. His PSAT will likely make him National Merit commended, but probably not a semi-finalist. He takes the regular amount of APs and community college classes for his school. He does band, basketball, soccer, and theater, works as a math tutor, and volunteer coaches. So he’s involved and happy, but not doing research or working on a cure for cancer like so many other kids I read about here!

He is fortunately not interested in engineering or computer science, which seem like the most competitive majors. But he doesn’t really know what he wants to study. Maybe something like economics that includes both math and social sciences.

He’s found lots of reaches he likes but we are looking for more “matches” and “safeties” that have generous financial assistance - either in aid or merit scholarships. I’ve learned a lot on this site about the great merit scholarships at places like Alabama, Arizona, and Pitt. But when reading about actual dollar amounts of these merit scholarships and seeing how much my daughter received in just financial aid, it seems our costs may be lower at a school with generous financial aid than from merit scholarships at these schools.