Mail/P.O. Boxes - Availability and Need?

<p>Besides the mailboxes-for-rent in the Commons (<a href="http://www.tamucms.com/Mailbox-Rental.aspx"&gt;http://www.tamucms.com/Mailbox-Rental.aspx&lt;/a&gt;) are there other mailboxes on campus for students? When I was in school (mid-80's, not A&M) every student had their own, free, mailbox (I know, I know, that was before email and the internet). Any recent opinions/experiences with regard to the need for a mailbox?</p>

<p>I’m no expert on the subject but I’m pretty sure you can rent at the Northgate Post Office</p>

<p>The only other PO boxes on campus are at Hullabaloo Hall. Not free! In fact, A&M even in the 80’s didn’t have free boxes. I rented one at Northgate post office and as mentioned before, that’s still an option. They used to be down in the basement which was super creepy. I think they closed down the basement ones. There is no problem with availability. We got one at our NSC.</p>

<p>There are also mailboxes for rent in the Commons. Wait until you have a dorm assignment then pick the closest location. You will need one as nothing is delivered to dorm rooms directly. You may need it for online book purchases (usually cheaper), mail from home (or friends & family)& online purchases of other items. If you lived close by and are making trips to College Station-home regularly you could manage without one.</p>

<p>Thanks, AGmomx2! I had actually heard otherwise, that some mail/packages are in fact delivered directly to student rooms (thus lessening need for mailbox). Good to hear something more recent! Appreciate your and others’ suggestions and experiences!</p>

<p>They say that they don’t deliver to dorms, but my son has received UPS and FedEx packages at the dorm. He has had a mailbox all year; the only mail he has gotten has been from home. He’s moving to an off-campus dorm next year, and they provide mailboxes there.</p>