Mediocrity

I am a sophomore in high school at a prestigious boarding school, and yet I feel like I have no hope of getting into a good college. I have great grades, great test scores, play varsity sports, and yet in every meaningful award or competition I put myself towards to, I’ve failed to achieve anything. I have so many regrets and so many wishes that I had just tried harder in my freshman year and the fall and early winter of sophomore year. I still have hope that my efforts can culminate into something this summer or my junior year, but I honestly am losing optimism that I can be admitted into an Ivy League as my senior year approaches. Sorry. This was just a rant.

First, it seems as if you are in a high pressure environment where “good college” only means Ivy League. There are many great schools out there. You may have a chance at a top school anyway, so certainly apply. You don’t need to win awards or competitions. But also try to learn about and love some other schools.

If I were your parent, I would kind of find your post concerning. You have worked hard and achieved a lot. If you think you are depressed, please talk to someone.

Your chances of admission to a school where you can thrive are very high. Please find a school that fits you, despite the pressures of your school.

4 Likes

Please read this: The original “Average” Excellent student graduates today

TLDR: “My shy, quiet girl who didn’t win a single award in high school will soon be leaving home for a grown up job. She’s achieved a truly great goal: graduating with a hard-earned degree. She is going to be fine, and my mission is accomplished.“

You don’t have to go to Harvard to have a successful and fulfilling life. You are young and have so much life to live before you even need to think about what your future path is. Do your best and take time to enjoy your youth. You will be fine.

6 Likes