Miami to Minnesota transfer?

<p>Hello. I'm a sophomore at the University of Miami. I am majoring in environmental engineering and contemplating transferring to the University of Minnesota. I have never visited their campus and am pulling my hair out over the decision, which needs to be made by May 1. I feel a bit disconnected with the types of personalities at the U and am looking for a more genuine atmosphere. I'm a member of the marching band here. I play tuba.</p>

<p>I also find my engineering program to be a bit disconnected from the rest of the school. I notice other programs have a vision that I just don't see. The program isn't bad; it's just not great. I'm one of the superior students in all of my engineering classes.</p>

<p>I also don't know about Minnesota. It's a big school as far as I hear. I've thought about the weather, but at the end of the day, I just want to be happy with my program and what is around me, and snow really isn't going to bother me that much.</p>

<p>Any thoughts? Insight into either Miami's or Minnesota's engineering programs? Anything on the atmosphere of Minnesota as a college experience and a civil engineering program?
blarger is online now</p>

<p>Earlier in my career we lived in Minnesota for 7 winters; it’s hard to imagine two more different environments. Unless you have lived there you have no sense of the weather. The issue is not snow, it’s snowier in Boston and Chicago than Minneapolis, the issue is the cold. You will have at least 1 week and up to 3 weeks where nighttime lows will be -30 F or colder. There will be days when the high temperatures will not even reach 0 F. In the seven years we lived there my kids never had a snow day, but school was cancelled twice because wind chills reached -60 F; in short, unless you’ve lived it, you don’t know cold like Minnesota cold.</p>