More Direct admit?

<p>Emory and Minnesota have recently changed so that all or almost all students admitted to the prenursing program are guaranteed admission. Do you think that more and more school will move to direct admission? Will they have to in order to compete? </p>

<p>That seems to be the trend. Students have heard horror stories about disappointments in getting accepted as a sophomore, so many students are emphasizing direct entry. Of course, you still need to keep up your grades to stay in a direct entry program, but you don’t need to achieve super-human grades like you do at some 2-2 flagship university programs.</p>

<p>I definitely think so. Although I’m still a high school student and haven’t even been accepted to a nursing school yet (nor have I have started applying), I can tell you that I’m only interested in direct entry programs. The same goes for all of my friends who are also interested in pursuing nursing. Charliesch is correct about the trend too. In fact, Fairleigh Dickinson University, which is just a few minutes from my house in NJ, recently made their BSN nursing program at both campuses direct entry. I think that as nursing becomes more competitive and popular, the more pressured colleges will feel to make their programs direct entry. </p>

<p>I agree. I think colleges HAVE to consider they are losing applicants based on stories of kids not making it into the nursing program and having to either transfer schools, change majors or go an extra year. My daughter ONLY considered direct entry programs - she did not want to deal with that stress.</p>

<p>Kjc. Where did she end up?</p>

<p>Jara - she’s just applied - this is for Fall 2015 admission - so we don’t know yet! :)</p>

<p>I just looked at Emory’s website. Emory is not a freshmen direct admit nursing program. I am copying and pasting this info. from the Emory website.</p>