My shot at UCLA, UCSD and UCSB

Hello, I am new to this forum. I am currently a sophomore in high school.

I’ll start off by saying that my thing is math and science; they are my highest grades ( Both A’s above 95 and I’m in accelerated classes). I’m OK in English, my average essay grade is in the B+ area but I have an A in the class.

As of now, my cumulative UW GPA is 3.83 and my weighted is a 4.0 ( I only took 1 ap this year) and I attend a fairly competitive high school.

I have not taken the SAT or ACT yet so I know it is hard to gauge my chances.

For extracurriculars, I play football and rugby, however, I highly doubt I will be able to play sports in college. I also volunteer a few times a month if that means anything.

I know this isn’t really a lot to go off of but it’s the best I can give. It is practically impossible for me to see a counselor at my school. I do not know what exact major I want to pursue yet however it will most likely be something in STEM. I would appreciate it to know my brutally honest chances at the three schools in the description, what SAT/ ACT results I should shoot for and what I can do to improve my chances. Thank you very much for any replies.

Oh and sorry if I forgot to mention this but I live in NorCal.

My S is a senior, just finishing up. By two years ago this time, he had one AP course, ready to take his 1st AP test; and several honors classes ( math, science and English). His uw gpa is currently very similar to yours, but his weighted is much higher (capped & uncapped). He was accepted to UCSB and UCLA (among others), and waitlisted at UCSD (due mainly, we think, to the size of his chosen major program; very smal at UCSD). My advice is to work on figuring out what you want to do with your interests/strengths and investigate the programs at the schools you are interested in. Let the programs you are interested in drive the schools you focus on.