Nursing Class of 2026 (Direct Admit BSN)

This is my first post so bare with me. :slight_smile:

Thought I had it all figured out. DS who graduates HS 2022 as a senior has chosen business school, finished his AA-T in Business at a local comm college and plays ice hockey. He plans on San Diego State or U of Oregon. Both great business schools and club ice hockey.

DD who also is graduating HS in 2022 as a Junior has her AA in Deaf Studies and had planned on going to CSUN to get a BA in Interpreting as they have one of the best program in the country. After binge watching Grey’s Anatomy and some deep thought, she now wants to go to nursing school. I have been a nurse for over 25 years (ICU for 15 years- with years as a travel nurse and Home care for 10years) and she has seen me be a full-time mom with a great paying/flexible job helping people. Honestly Im thrilled she wants to go into nursing but I have spent about 80 hours the past few weeks sending emails, researching schools etc. WHAT A NIGHTMARE!

I have always said, a nurse is a nurse is a nurse. Although I have my BSN, the ASN nurses that I work with make the exact same money. As an RN, nobody asks what your GPA is or where you went to school for that matter. All that being said, I want my daughter to get her BSN because she has the potential of an advanced degree. (NP, Nurse Anesthetist, etc)

At this point we are fully committed to a direct admit program. We live in Ventura County, CA and anyone in CA knows that our state is a disaster for admission to nursing school.