Nursing Hopeful (Looking for guidance) - Pennsylvania

Hey everyone,

First of all, I just want to preface this by saying thank you in advance if you’re reading this post! I just want to gauge everyone and get some insight on what I should do regarding my situation. I’m a recent college graduate and I have a BS in Biology (Pre-Med track). I graduated with a lower GPA than anticipated with a 3.31 cGPA (3.20 Science) and I’m considering making the jump into nursing! Throughout my college and high school career, I was involved in various clubs and fraternities and did countless blood drives and philanthropic events for charities.

I’m currently taking some time to do some research into programs in my state (Pennsylvania), and I’m worried about my GPA. Since graduating, I’ve been working as an EMT (BLS) to earn money for tuition/living expenses and also getting some experience in the meantime.

My question is, is do you think that I will struggle getting into a BSN program, and also what could I do currently to increase my odds/chances of getting in?

Schools I’m looking into:

1. Indiana University of Pennsylvania (my Alma Mater)
  2. Lock Haven
  3. Edinboro
  4. Misericordia (ABSN)
  5. La Roche (entry level MSN)

Again, thank you SO MUCH for looking at my post. I look forward to talking to everyone!

Have you considered the two Penn State programs? I think that you might be accepted anywhere except maybe U Penn into a BA/BS to BSN program. Here’s a list of (purportedly) all the BA/BS to BSN programs within Pennsylvania.

https://www.nursingprocess.org/accelerated-nursing-programs/pennsylvania/

I would definitely consider cost. Even the Penn State programs are I think something like 37K for the 60 credits over 4 semesters accelerated program. I cannot imagine that any of the private programs would be cheaper, but if I were you, I’d find out how much all of them would cost you, and take that into account.